The Mycologist's Wife

a love story in three poems.





I will be the death of you, she tells me, the first words

since we kissed and her canines broke skin, the line

of my gums yielding with the whole of me. Her eyes

are hungry-shining and there is nothing I can do

but follow her, sinuous and sinking. My lover,

the mycologist, was not my lover yesterday, was not before

this moment, hands buried in my ribcage, tongue a vice,

thigh just where I could turn my head and bite and tear.

She unspools my capillaries like a seamstress, bloody-

weaver-woman. Takes her favorite mold, inoculates

my skin, watches it fester, spread, envelop. Claims me

her new home. I shudder, butterfly-pinned,

my body ready-rotting, my lover, the mycologist,

bent over me and gnawing at my clavicle, urging

mycelia into my ligaments. In the morning, I hold her

to my ruptured body, let her eat what she will.

The mushrooms marry us, the fungal priest (p)residing

in our tendons and our iron-slurry organs. Her kiss

is aching, pulling blood from me—she says, my wife,

my fascination. I am florid, fungi fruiting

from my hyphae-heavy flesh, silk caps parting my skin,

and my lover, the mycologist, rakes her teeth down,

devouring. I writhe, upturning like a new grave’s

earth, kiss my way to the sweetest source of rot.

My lover, the mycologist, teeth at my neck, implores

me not to leave her. Promises to thread me through

with mushroom-stuff, to kill me gentle-sweet, to hold me—

tells me, no one else would give me this.






We will be terribly in love, she tells me, teeth at my neck.

Above our heads are the jars—she feeds her pretty children

bones and flesh, and in the morning our hands will be dirty

to the elbows with intestines, burying the bloated body

of her cat, too big for jarring. My lover, the mycologist,

kisses me in the garden, gore on our fingers, tangling,

strangling-vinely. She pulls me away from the upturned

earth, promises to bury me there when she kills me.

We are terribly in love, and it consumes me. I choke

on the hyphae. Her attention a parasite, soothing me

to flushed compliance. She says to me, my wife,

my second body. The selfhood of me languors,

flayed, seduced, sucked at like a honeycomb. My lover,

the mycologist, murmurs that I will be eaten well.

With the moon hidden, I see the fruiting bodies line

her back, spine-anchored, growing right from bone.

One night we eat poison. It feels like sex, the way it pins

my nerves down. She watches it happen, traces my blood

vessels, popping, expanding, gushing, coating the bed,

and she kisses the last breath from my lungs. She does

not die, the caps go down easy on her, slinking through

her larynx, burrowing like bloodworms into bone.

The mycologist is more mycelium than meat. I bite down

on her shoulder in my post-mortem, coital shudders.

The upturned earth is warm and writhing, and it is not rot

that crawls into my mouth, my eyes, my ears. I sigh, and sink,

heart soggy, spongy, wet. My lover, the mycologist,

she tells me, come home when you are ready.






Looks like nematodes, she tells me. Beneath her gaze

my arm festers, bone-flayed, blood-worms writhing

like capillaries come alive. They have been here

since I came back from the dead. My lover,

the mycologist, breathes spores into my skin,

jealous that my passengers are not her

favored guests. The nematodes persist, but mushrooms grow, too,

mycelia lancing through osteocytes, pervading marrow.

My arm across my eyes. The nematodes descend,

finding soft purchase on my white sclera, staining red

with ulnal blood. They bring the mushrooms with them.

In the morning, the mycologist is at my wrist, vampiric,

biting, tearing. Nematode and hyphae in her teeth.

Gore-grinning at my wormy, threaded eyes, her mouth

approaching, gentle pressure as she tears them

from the optic nerves. It is not a painful sensation.

She knows, as we pass Aminata back and forth

between our tongues, I won’t again be poisoned,

so she pushes at the limit of my undead immortality,

gnaws at my still-warm bones, feeds me

to her fungal colonies. She says to me, my wife,

the incubator. The mycologist mollified, my nematodes

get closer to my heart, racing her hyphae, chasing

iron-heavy hemocytes back to their source.

My lover, the mycologist, admits defeat, but I will not

let her withdraw from my smooth ribs, I keep

murmuring, stay, as second death approaches.

She tells me, it will be so odd, to see your body still.